Transitioning to a Manager Position


Summary

Learn to slip into your new role as a Leader, with a better understanding of team leading, business administration, commercial and strategic concepts.

 

Through a combination of theoretical sessions and hands-on workshops, the mindset of participants is transformed to embrace the shift of focus from detail to overview, which they must go through to be successful Managers.

 


Duration

  • Face to face: 2.5 days
  • Live online: 5 x 0.5 days

Description

Moving up to a Manager position requires a profound change of mindset and perspective.


New managers must re-invent their professional outlook and must face a new suite of complex challenges.  


People who have climbed the organisational ladder often learn on the job, often through mistakes – it is rare that anyone sits them down to have the “manager” talk.


This course is designed to help new and future managers to map out the new environment that awaits them, with its concepts, challenges and its relationships.


Participants are guided to learn to slip into their new role as a Leader, with a better understanding of team leading, business administration, commercial and strategic concepts.


They develop the understanding of what a business expects from its team leaders and managers.


Through a combination of theoretical sessions and hands-on workshops, the mindset of participants is transformed to embrace the shift of focus from detail to overview, which they must go through to be successful Managers.

Course Fee

 2022 course sessions

  • US Dollars 1300 USD
  • Pound Sterling 930 GBP
  • Euros 1068 EUR
  • Singapore Dollars 1800 SGD
  • Malaysian Ringgits 4850 MYR
  • Australian Dollars 1645 AUD
  • Canadian Dollars 1575 CAD
  • Other Currencies (convert)

2023 course sessions

 

  • US Dollars 1300 USD
  • Pound Sterling 975 GBP
  • Euros 1120 EUR
  • Singapore Dollars 1800 SGD
  • Malaysian Ringgits 5095 MYR
  • Australian Dollars 1725 AUD
  • Canadian Dollars 1650 CAD
  • Other Currencies (convert)

Course Outline

Unit 1 - What does the new role change?

  • What changes in this new type of role
  • What new perspective to acquire

Unit 2 - Getting started

  • Aligning strategy with company objectives
  • Creating a vision and a culture
  • Mobilising a team
  • (Re-)defining roles and responsibilities
  • Developing plans to achieve objectives

Unit 3 - Attitude and perspective shift

  • Accepting accountability for entire team
  • Thinking and communicating at a higher level
  • Projecting confidence
  • Making difficult decisions
  • From expecting to effecting

Unit 4 - The bigger picture

  • Nesting the bigger picture
  • Strategic thinking
  • Mapping processes

Unit 5 - New tricks to learn

  • From doing to managing
  • Delegating & empowering people
  • Following up and closing out
  • Chairing meetings
  • Supporting and motivating the team
  • Anticipating, detecting and addressing issues
  • Managing priorities
  • Managing and monitoring performance
  • Managing office politics
  • Managing risks

Unit 6 - New activities to undertake

  • Managing commercial and economic aspects
  • Strategic planning
  • Managing resource utilisation
  • Processing information, forecasting, reporting
  • Downward, upward and sideways management

Unit 7 - All eyes on the Manager

  • Change in rapport with others
  • Leading by example
  • Representing the organisation
  • Communication style
  • Managing confidential information

Unit 8 - New problems to face

  • Dealing with difficult situations
  • Dealing with difficult people

Locations & Dates

All our courses are delivered in English language

Face-to-Face

 

 

2022

 

UK & Europe

London, United Kingdom

13 to 15 June 2022

FULL - Registrations closed

 

Amsterdam, Netherlands

24 to 26 October 2022

Registrations open – Seats Limited

Australia

Perth, WA

4 to 6 July 2022

FULL - Registrations closed

Middle East

Dubai, United Arab Emirates

17 to 19 October2022

Registrations open – Seats Limited

 

2023

 

UK & Europe

London, United Kingdom

20 to 22 November 2023

Registrations open

 

Amsterdam, Netherlands

6 to 8 March 2023

Registrations open

Australia

Perth, WA

8 to 10 May 2023

Registrations open

 All our courses are delivered in English language

(including all of the above face-to-face sessions)

Virtual Classroom (live online)

Our Live Online course session is a virtual classroom with live sessions with the course lecturer and other course participants, very similar to the face-to-face experience.

See below upcoming live online sessions for this course.


Live online course sessions (virtual classroom)

Date Options

What time will the session be if you are based in:

 

Europe, UK & Middle East

Americas

Australia & Asia

Option 1

From

Monday 12-Dec-2022

to Friday 16-Dec -2022

5 half-days (fixed dates)

4.5 hours per day

***Optimized for this timezone***

***Optimized for this timezone***

 

§ UK, Ireland: 1.00pm to 5.30pm

§ Netherlands, Germany , France and other Central Europe Timezone: 2.00pm to 6.30pm

§ Qatar, Saudi Arabia: 4.00pm to 8.30pm

§ United Arab Emirates, Oman, Azerbaijan: 5.00pm to 9.30pm

§ US / Canada – Pacific time: 5.00am to 9.30am

§ US / Canada – Mountain time: 6.00am to 10.30am

§ US / Canada – Central time: 7.00am to 11.30am

§ US / Canada – Eastern time: 8.00am to 12.30pm

§ Perth, Singapore, Brunei: 9.00pm to 1.30am

§ Brisbane: Night time

§ Canberra, Sydney, Melbourne: Night time

§ New Zealand: Night time

§ Other timezones: check times here

Other timezones: check times here

Other timezones: check times here

Option 2

From

Monday 17-Apr-2023 to Friday 21-Apr-2023

5 half-days (fixed dates)

4.5 hours per day

***Optimized for this timezone***

***Optimized for this timezone***

***Optimized for this timezone***

§ UK, Ireland: 11.00am to 3.30pm

§ Netherlands, Germany , France and other Central Europe Timezone: 12.00pm to 4.30pm

§ Qatar, Saudi Arabia: 1.00pm to 5.30pm

§ United Arab Emirates, Oman, Azerbaijan: 2.00pm to 6.30pm

§ US / Canada – Pacific time: 3.00am to 7.30am

§ US / Canada – Mountain time: 4.00am to 8.30am

§ US / Canada – Central time: 5.00am to 9.30am

§ US / Canada – Eastern time: 6.00am to 10.30am

§ Perth, Singapore, Brunei: 6.00pm to 10.30pm

§ Brisbane: 8.00pm to 12.30am

§ Canberra, Sydney, Melbourne: 8.00pm to 12.30am

§ New Zealand: 10.00pm to 2.30am (night)

§ Other timezones: check times here

§ Other timezones: check times here

§ Other timezones: check times here

Option 3

From

Monday 23-Oct-2023 to Friday 27-Oct-2023

5 half-days (fixed dates)

4.5 hours per day

***Optimized for this timezone***

***Optimized for this timezone***

***Optimized for this timezone***

§ UK, Ireland: 10.00am to 2.30pm

§ Netherlands, Germany , France and other Central Europe Timezone: 11.00am to 3.30pm

§ Qatar, Saudi Arabia: 12.00pm to 4.30pm

§ United Arab Emirates, Oman, Azerbaijan: 1.00pm to 5.30pm

§ US / Canada – Pacific time: 2.00am to 6.30am (night)

§ US / Canada – Mountain time: 3.00am to 7.30am (night)

§ US / Canada – Central time: 4.00am to 8.30am (night)

§ US / Canada – Eastern time: 5.00am to 9.30am (night)

§ Perth, Singapore, Brunei: 5.00pm to 9.30pm

§ Brisbane: 7.00pm to 11.30pm

§ Canberra, Sydney, Melbourne: 8.00pm to 12.30am

§ New Zealand: 10.00pm to 2.30am (night)

§ Other timezones: check times here

§ Other timezones: check times here

§ Other timezones: check times here

 

 

Audience

  • Individuals moving up to a Manager position
  • Team leaders, managers, entrepreneurs, business owners
  • Individual seeking to progress their career
  • Business owners planning for growth
  • Individuals with no formal or academic management training
  • Individuals who have risen through the ranks

Pre-Requisites

  • Desire to be a leader
  • Desire for more responsibility
  • Ability to think conceptually
  • Ability to mentally project oneself outside of one's own reality and/or experience
  • Desire to be challenged beyond one’s comfort zone

Course objectives

By the end of this course, participants will be able to:

  • Operate a mindset shift from detail to overview
  • Operate a mindset shift from doing to managing
  • Understand the difference between an employee role and a Manager role
  • Think at a strategic level
  • Understand the skills that they must develop
  • Accept responsibility and accountability
  • Understand the environment of a manager
  • Understand the challenges of a manager
  • Understand the components of people management

What makes us different

  • The course applies to all sectors of activity and industries
  • We provide a gateway into the world of management with a robust approach
  • We help participants map out the environment of a Manager
  • We facilitate a change of mindset among participants - for the benefit of their respective organisations



Course Fee

2022 course sessions

Currency

Price

 

US Dollars

1300

USD

Pound Sterling

 930

GBP

Euros

1068

EUR

Singapore Dollars

1800

SGD

Malaysian Ringgits

4850

MYR

Australian Dollars

1645

AUD

Canadian Dollars

1575

CAD

Other Currencies

Convert

(for information)

In client premises / Private sessions

On demand

.

2023 course sessions

Currency

Price

 

US Dollars

1300

USD

Pound Sterling

 975

GBP

Euros

1120

EUR

Singapore Dollars

1800

SGD

Malaysian Ringgits

5095

MYR

Australian Dollars

1725

AUD

Canadian Dollars

1650

CAD

Other Currencies

Convert

(for information)

In client premises / Private sessions

On demand


Payment

 Payment methods: 

  • Debit or Credit Card 
  • Bank Transfer 
  • Paypal 

Payment terms:

  • Enrolment is confirmed upon receipt of full payment of the course fee
  • Payment is due within 7 days after registration and issuance of invoice
  • If you would like to pay by instalment, let us know when you enrol - please note that the full course fee will have to be paid before the course

In-Company / In-House Sessions

Kerr Noll also provide in-house / in-company training courses (face-to-face and live online formats).

Contact us to receive a proposal.

 

FAQ

Find out more on our FAQ page (Frequently Asked Questions).